Restricted or dangerous dogs



Restricted or dangerous dogs require special consideration. Find out what is required if you own a restricted or dangerous dog.

Restricted breeds

Restricted breeds of dogs in NSW include:

  • American Pit Bull Terrier or Pit Bull Terrier
  • Japanese Tosa
  • Dogo Argentino (Argentinian Fighting Dog)
  • Fila Brasiliero (Brazillian Fighting Dog)
  • Any other dog of a breed, kind or description whose importation into Australia is prohibited by or under the Australian Customs Act 1901 of the Commonwealth
  • Any dog declared by the Council to be a dog from the restricted breed of dog list or a cross breed from this list.

It is an offence to sell, acquire, or breed any of the dogs listed above.


A dog is “dangerous” if it has, without provocation, attacked or killed a person or animal, or repeatedly threatened to attack or repeatedly chased a person or another animal.

A dog may also be declared “dangerous” if it has displayed unreasonable aggression towards a person or another animal.

“Dangerous dogs” in NSW are dogs that are the subject of a declaration made by a Council or a Court under the Companion Animals Act 1998.

Owner responsibilities

If you are the owner of a “dangerous dog” there are strict guidelines you must follow in order to keep your dog under control.